Prayer Is Everything

Today, I learned that a dear colleague and friend’s wife was diagnosed with terminal stage 4 pancreatic cancer. I’ve been broken about it all day. I can’t even believe it’s real. I’ve been praying her to be healed all day.

My colleague, John, is the most amazing man. We worked at Michigan together for 6 years (two of those years was when I was an undergrad). I can’t say enough great things about John, but one thing I will say is, he’s the sole reason that I registered to vote. Here’s a little story:

Back when I turned 18, I was not one of those kids that was excited to finally vote. I really didn’t care at all about what happened in this country. I don’t know if you know anyone personally like that, but now you sorta do. I was that person. I didn’t think what the government did affected me. I don’t think I was unlike many 18 year olds though. Maybe some of you were like that. I just felt like, the government is shady and I’m not going to get involved by voting. (We clearly have people like this today and thanks to some of them, we now have the Orange Idiot in power.)

Well, fast forward to when I was working at Michigan. I don’t even know how the conversation came up, but John and I started talking and before I knew it, he was giving me the lecture of my life. Since my memory can be crap at times, I don’t remember word-for-word what he said. All I know is, he spoke to me in such a way that completely changed my mind about voting. I DO remember one thing he said and this is what got me. He said something along the lines of, “Think about your ancestors and how they fought for your right to vote.” He said, I should take every opportunity to continue what they fought for. John is white, by the way.

Now, those words might offend some of you. In fact, these days, if a black person heard that from a white person, I’m pretty sure that someone would be offended. #EveryoneIsOffendedAllTheTimeNow

But I wasn’t offended at all. It hit me like a ton of bricks. I had NEVER thought about it like that. Like I said, I was young (then 22) and just didn’t believe that the government was ever doing anything that would affect me directly. I didn’t care what they did because they always seemed to go back on their promises, etc. I just felt like, “Ugh, why bother?” I’m just being honest. I didn’t give two craps about voting, the government, etc. But I had that talk with John… and he really changed me. I will forever be grateful.

Anyway… John is super great. Like, seriously one of the greatest human beings on this Earth that I know. Not only because of the story I shared, but just in general. I often would go to John to talk about personal things going on in my life. We talked about basketball a lot, too. (He went to Indiana for undergrad and grad.) We also took the same bus into work. 🙂

To hear this news today….I can’t help but think, “Damn, God, why!?” Yeah, I’m gonna say it: John doesn’t deserve this. Him and his wife have a 13 year old son. (I can’t believe he’s 13!) His wife had him later in life because they tried very hard to conceive but couldn’t until…well, until they did! Our office was ecstatic for them. Seriously, you would’ve thought WE were all having the baby! *lol* His wife would come into the office from time to time and she is just the loveliest woman. So cool and down-to-earth. They are just perfect people to me.

I know things happen as they should in life. But damn, I don’t understand why some things have to happen to the nicest, greatest people.

Thankfully, I believe in a wonderful God who can do anything!! I’ve been praying all day that he heals John’s wife. So if any of you pray, please send up one for me today. And if you don’t pray, send up all the love and light.

Thanks 🙂  And sorry this is a blog completely out of left field, but I had to write about them because John is family to me. And family is everything. Prayer is everything.

t

Leave a Reply

