Not What I Planned

I had all these plans of getting the new year off to a great start here, but that didn’t quite work out the way I wanted. Sometimes, our plans are just that. Plans. When we make plans, we really never know if they’ll work out or not.

Going back to Christmas, my family unfortunately received some bad news that my niece’s husband had passed away. He passed on Christmas Day. *sigh* Seems like so many people pass away right near a holiday. It’s no wonder so many people are depressed around typically festive times of year. Due to his passing, I arranged for my mom and I to go to MI to attend his funeral. My mom flew from FL to VA, then we drove from VA to MI.

The service was FILLED to the brim. There were probably close to 200 people in attendance. He was very well loved and it showed in all of the words that people spoke. He was a great guy and will be missed.

So, that’s how my niece started her year and that makes me ache with sadness for her. They had only been married for a little over four years. Seriously, when I tell you to hold on tight to your loved ones, HOLD ON TIGHT to them. We just never know when we won’t see them again. It’s times like this that make me thankful for my faith. I’m thankful for God and knowing that He gives us peace in times like this.

Well, I need to transition from here and there’s no easy way, so…

Ice Cream News: 

The Mr. and I are pushing forward with our ice cream making endeavors for 2017! I recently enrolled in an online business class for entrepreneurs. I’m hoping to gain a little bit of insight as to how to run a business, as neither one of us has a CLUE what to do on the financial side of things! *lol* I start it in a few days, so I’m looking forward to learning some awesome stuff!

As for me, last year I spent a lot of time working on the academic advising site. I am no longer doing that, as I really struggled building the website to support what I wanted to do. So, I’m scaling it down and starting over. I think I’m going to focus on critiquing college papers/essays. This was a service I was going to offer in addition to advising. I believe that just offering paper review will be much easier to do and I don’t have to build a fancy website for it. As many of you know, I used to build websites back in the day. These days, I don’t have the applications to do that, so I’ve been depending on templates from WordPress. WP is great, but it’s limiting. I spent my time trying to rebuild various templates over last year, only to NOT get what I wanted. WP’s restrictions were just too vast. So, I had to give up, as I was just getting so frustrated and I wasn’t accomplishing anything. Most days, I was spending my time reading various articles that discussed how others attempted to manipulate code the same way I did and failed miserably. If I ever get the funds, I think my best bet would be to have someone build it for me. Until then, I’m going to give the paper critiquing a go.

I’m also looking at another little hustle, which shall remain a secret until I get it going. This project is actually ready to launch, I just need to fine tune a few things before it goes live. Hopefully in the next few weeks, I can reveal it. It’s nothing BIG…it’s just a little sumthin’, sumthin’. Something I’ve thought about and figured, well why not give it a go! This year is about giving things a try. No more dragging my feet and questioning every move. Just do it!

I have to FOCUS (remember, this is my word to…uh, *focus* on for the year) on what I want to accomplish this year. I didn’t focus my efforts in the way I wanted to, so now I’ve taken several steps back. Last year, was difficult though, as I hadn’t just lost focus, but I lost motivation as well. I didn’t want to admit it, but I entered into a bit of depression I think. I was functioning, but I was just sad. It kind of came out of nowhere. I tried to push myself as much as possible, but I just couldn’t get back on track. I remember starting the year out very excited, but by March, I was just lifeless. I spoke to my doctor about it and he felt it was probably because of our loss. He said it was common to feel that way for up to a year or so. Well, once he said that, it made a lot of sense. I didn’t feel like myself AT ALL for most of last year. This is when I turned to more prayer and reading the Bible. I also enlisted the help of essential oils. Today, I feel much, MUCH better…like a fog has been lifted. I still have a few moments, but overall, I feel like myself again. I’m praying I can continue feeling this way this year and beyond.

Well, as I said, I’m hoping to really get back into blogging this year. My goal is to really get out a post once a week. But I may surprise you with two! Who knows, we’ll see! And not only am I hoping to blog more, but I’m hoping to get back to my novel I started two years back! I have 25,000 words waiting to be edited! Yikes! 😀

Let’s go 2017!!

-t

Leave a Reply

