ONE WORD: “Focus”

Hey! This will be my last post for the new year!! I can’t believe we’re entering in another new year in the next several days. WHERE DID THE TIME GO?!

If you don’t follow me on Instagram (mrsbates78), you should! *lol* I post a lot of random-ness there (food pics, nail pics, Biblical/positive quotes, self portraits) 🙂 One recent thing I posted was about setting up a word (getoneword.com) instead of a resolution(s) for guidance in the new year. So, every year, we set up resolutions. We try to follow them and then by Feb or maybe March if we’re lucky, we’re over it. On the flip side, there are some of us that just KNOW we will fail at resolutions, so we don’t even risk establishing them in the first place! *lol*

The other day, I came across a devotion on the Bible app (look me up if you’re on the app) called “One Word That Will Change Your Life”. In a nutshell, it’s about determining a word (just ONE) that will help you accomplish your goals for the new year.  Sometimes, resolutions may be too specific or too lofty for us to accomplish. I mean, it’s no wonder that most people can’t keep them for the entire year. And while it’s admirable to set some big goals for the new year, sometimes we can go overboard.

By choosing one word, it allows you to go into any task/goal with more precision and specificity.

I figured I’d try this, seeing as I’ve stopped making resolutions a long time ago. This is kind of a like a challenge to me for some reason. I don’t know why, it just feels like it is. And I like challenges, so I’m up for it. My ONE WORD is:

FOCUS

I don’t know about you guys, but I’ve been letting myself get too distracted by a variety of things this past year. I’ve had ideas/goals and just got sidetracked by wanting to do other things. Or I’ve lost focus because I got caught up in my emotions. This year was tough, but I’ve learned a lot (A LOT)!

I wrote out a list of a few things I plan to focus on this year, but I’m going to save those things for another blog once the new year starts. So you’ll hear about some things I want to focus on in January!

But for now, I just plan to enjoy the remainder of this year and I hope you all have a wonderful holiday with family and friends!

Take care and have an awesome New Year! See you in 2017!!!

-T

 

Leave a Reply

