Story Time: Part 3 – “This one time…”

…this kid, who shall be named Douchebag (aka Brian–his real name–I don’t care), called me the N-word. It was so, so, sosososo random.  To this day, I don’t get where it came from. I never even talked to this kid. He was in the grade below me. I believe I was a junior at the time, so he was a sophomore. Now, I talked to the sophomores, but never him. He was a popular guy. He played sports and people seemed to genuinely like this kid from what I could see. When I think about it, I don’t know why I never talked to him. I talked to everyone HE talked to in his grade, just never talked to him for whatever reason.

So, one day, during lunch, I left the cafeteria to do something. I think I had to go to the office. All I know is, I left. I was headed upstairs (our cafeteria was in the basement) and I saw douchebag coming down the stairs. As we passed each other, he said kind of under his breath, “Move outta my way, n*****.” After he said it, he sped down the stairs, giggling. I stopped and turned around to look at him. He turned back quickly once he got to the bottom of the stairs, with a big smile on his face, still giggling and kept going. In this same moment, my friend Heather was also coming downstairs and had heard him. She was near the top of the stairs, her mouth open with a look of horror on her face. As I started back up the stairs, she said, “Oh my God Tracey, did he really just say that?” “Yup”, I said, shaking my head. She followed me to wherever I was going (I think it was to the office). “Are you okay? Should we tell Mrs. Elek?”, she asked. “No, I’m ok. He’s stupid.” She stopped me in the middle of the hallway to hug me. I felt a tear coming on, but kept it together. When I think back to that time, sometimes I get a little upset I didn’t say anything to that douche.

[But what did FLOTUS say? “When they go low, we go high.”]

I never had anyone else say anything like that to me while I was in school. Now, it’s possible people said stuff like that behind my back. But I never had any other issues, not even with that douche. That was seriously the first and last interaction I had with him. So strange. It just came out of no-where! Anyway…

I’m going to end this one a little short. I started writing about cheerleading, when I realized this post was getting too long. So I’ll write about that in another post. Hopefully you’ll see that on Wed? Thurs? Stay tuned.

-t

 

 

Leave a Reply

