Writing Challenge #7 – Talent You’d Like to Have

Describe a talent you’d like to have. 

YESSSS, a SECOND blog for the week!! #werk

So, I’m gonna cheat and give two talents for this challenge because…this is my blog 🙂

1. Singing
2. Playing piano

I wanted to be a singer when I was a kid. I just thought it would be the coolest thing to do. I’m in awe of amazing voices. Hence, my everlasting love for Mariah Carey. I was so happy to have finally gotten to see her sing live TWICE while we lived in NYC. *sigh* She’s so amazing. 🙂 🙂 🙂

It’s funny, but apparently some people think I can sing. I don’t agree with this thinking, but I’ll go with it.*lol* When I was in the 4th grade, I was chosen to sing in a school performance. It might’ve been a play…I can’t recall. I was with 3-4 other students and we sung off-stage in a corner of the audience. It was a weird setup. I just remember there were students on stage and then small groups of students off-stage in the four corners of the gym. That’s all I remember.

One day in music class, the teacher had us sing “Summertime” solo. (If you’re unfamiliar with the song, I’ve put a a video to one version below. It was written for the opera Porgy and Bess. It’s a song that’s been performed by SO many artists…there’s something like 30,000 recordings!) Anyway…we’d been practicing this song for weeks, so by this time we could all sing it from memory. Apparently, our teacher was putting together some sort of school play/performance and needed to choose students to sing in it. I seriously can’t remember if he told us beforehand or not, but we were terrified to sing alone in front of the whole class. I mean, we were 8-9 years old! #scurred 

Our teacher made us stand stood row by row, each singing the first verse solo. After a student sang, our teacher told the student to sit down and moved on to the next person. My turn came and my 8-year old self was PETRIFIED. Guys, I don’t think I can describe how painfully shy I was at that age. Seriously, I don’t even know how I had friends back then because I was SO introverted! *lol* Anyway, I mustered up every bit of nerve in my body, trying to remember the breathing techniques my teacher taught us and belted out the song. I could hear my classmates whispering as I sung, which made me even more nervous, but I just kept going. When I finished, my teacher had a big smile on his face and asked me to sing the next verse! Umm, WHAT!? I’m sure I gave him a crazy look, like, was he joking!? Didn’t he hear how bad I was!? And why did *I* have to sing another verse? NO ONE else so far had to do that! So… I sang the next verse. My teacher gave me a very enthusiastic “Good!” and asked me to stay standing, which made everyone laugh at me. I wanted to diiiie. Mortified, I stood while the remaining students took their turns.

At the end, I was the only one standing. I got the part.

🙂 *high-kick* YEAHHH BOYYYYY!

Everyone was jealous and I loved every minute of it! 🙂 Well…until I realized I had to sing in front of a gymnasium full of people!! *LOL* But it was cool. As I said, it ended up being me and a few other students from other grades.

In high school, I was picked to sing some duets in church. I wasn’t as scared, but still, I didn’t like being in front of people with all eyes on me. I just don’t enjoy being the center of attention, which is why I proooobably would not make a great professional singer! *lol* Oh well. I don’t think that was really my calling anyway. #writerlife #hermit haha!

As for playing an instrument, I’ve always loved the piano. I’ve been told my long, skinny fingers would be good for it. I also love the flute and violin. Maybe one day, I’ll take some lessons for one of these things. We shall see 🙂

Alrighty, that’s all she wrote! See ya next week!

-t

Enjoy “Summertime” by Ella Fitzgerald

Leave a Reply

