Post-Valentine Glow

One of the things I love about my husband is his desire to celebrate the major moments in our lives. I wish I was always excited to do the same, but truth be told, I just didn’t grow up celebrating birthdays, anniversaries, etc. Holidays like Valentine’s Day and birthdays were acknowledged with cards, but we didn’t go out and DO things. But Mr. B is always about celebrating with at least dinner out, but oftentimes he wants to do more.  Therefore, this Valentine’s Day was no exception. This year, he planned a surprise trip for us for the holiday, which I was super excited about. I love surprises and I must say, he’s very good at planning just about everything we do in our relationship.

So…what did we do???

We took the train back to NYC to see Maxwell in concert!!

It was so great because I had wanted to see him in concert for a long time. I know some of you reading may not be familiar with him. He’s an R&B singer that was very popular in the 90s. He has an amazing voice, so if you’re not familiar with him, look him up on Youtube or iTunes.

The concert was really nice. He had two opening acts: Emeli Sandé and Nas. Yes… you read that right… NAS.  Let me be clear, I’m not a huge rap fan if I’m being completely honest. And when I say that, I mean, I don’t buy rap. I haven’t bought a rap CD since I was in college. So, while I listen to rap (or hip-hop) on the radio, etc, I don’t really buy it. Now while I am a fan of Nas in terms of his popular songs, I don’t have the slightest clue when it comes to any of his other songs. I definitely felt out of place during his set because everyone was singing along and I’m like, ummm, yeah. No clue. *lol* But that’s ok, I guess the same could be said for Emeli Sandé. I’ve only heard one of her songs, but the rest of her set I was clueless. (She’s an R&B singer and has a really great voice…check her out.)

Anyway, on to the star of the show…Maxwell was great! He just has such an amazing voice. But as far as his actual show, it was a little disappointing. If you’ve gone to any concert in your life, then you know that some artists that have a lot of hit records, sometimes tend to rearrange their popular songs.  I understand they get tired of performing the same song over and over again, so they change it up to keep it fresh for themselves. Well, that’s what Maxwell did for just about every popular song he sung. And by the way, he didn’t really sing too many of his hits, which was another let down, but more on that later. So many of the songs he sung, he rearranged. I didn’t even recognize what he was about to sing because he changed them up so dramatically. Once he got into the song, he sort of brought in the original music, but for the most part, it was done different. So I was a little disappointed about that, especially since this was the first time hearing him live. My husband has seen Maxwell before in concert and said he didn’t really change the songs up to that extent. So maybe if we get the chance to see him again, it’ll be better in that respect.

Also, he didn’t really sing a lot of his popular songs, which was disappointing. He did perform two new songs though, so that was exciting. He apparently tweeted out, as well as mentioned at the concert, that he’ll have new music coming soon! So if you’re a fan, get ready! And hopefully he’ll go on tour again soon as well.

Overall, the show as really good. I could’ve done without Nas though. It was just weird to have him there because it was Valentine’s and I didn’t really want to hear rap music. But Maxwell shared that he and Nas have been good friends forever and wanted to do something together, so this was that opportunity. I understand that, but dude, it was weird. It didn’t really fit the mood of the show at all to have Nas up there rapping and cursing, etc. It was just not romantic. But, he did put on a good show. Had I been an actual Nas fan, I think I would’ve been happy with his performance.

Well, here’s a little video from the performance. It’s only 15 seconds, but it’s a GOOD 15 seconds! Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

