Challenge 3 – “Something I Miss”

Before I dive into the topic, let me first say, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! I hope your year is off to a great start! We were in Florida this year, visiting my parents for the holiday. And while we were there, we were able to see our MICHIGAN WOLVERINES put a beat down on the Florida Gators in the Citrus Bowl!!! It was AWESOME!!! Totally made sitting in 85 degree weather, in near-nosebleed seats soooo worth it! It was a goal of mine to attend a bowl game and I’m so glad we were able to go!!

We had a good time visiting my parents and were sad to leave the nice weather. We got back yesterday and were slapped in the face with 30 degree temps when we got back home! I guess winter has finally arrived. *sigh*

Moving on…

Today’s topic is about something I miss. Lately, I feel like I miss a lot of things. Most of the things I miss are not things, but people. But I’ll keep to the topic and say that I miss life before social media. I KNOW. How can I not love social media!? It’s not that I don’t love it, but let’s be real. It’s gotten out of hand! Or should I say, some of the people that use it have gotten out of hand. There are some that use it responsibly, but there is definitely a large number that do not. I could go on a whole social media rant (there will be a post about that), but for now, I’ll just say I miss times before social media.

You know what I really miss?? I miss the OLD social media. If you’re Black, then you definitely remember Black Planet! It’s so funny, but as I look back, it was so fun! I mean, how many times did that stupid chat messenger crash!? UGH, it was THE worst! But it was fun! I loved it, and I loved other sites like it. I never once thought about leaving it like I how I did with Facebook. (And in case you missed it, I DID leave Facebook.) I wish we had social media sites like Black Planet, where you could communicate/keep in touch with people without all of the sharing. I know there are people who enjoy all of the sharing, but to me, it’s just too much these days. I’ve said this before, but in real life, we don’t share every single detail of our lives every single day….all day long. We just don’t. Sometimes I’m like, wow, aren’t people tired of sharing so much of their lives? And when I say “share”, I mean multiple posts and pictures throughout the day. And most of what is shared is not necessary. When I had FB, I had hidden quite a few friends because I was tired of hearing about every single thing in their lives. I felt bad, but I started to not care. #keepingitreal And because I didn’t want to feel that way about my friends, I left. Honestly, I may never go back to FB. It was a massive time suck anyway. If I ever get back on, it’ll be for my business. In fact, I’m pretty sure I will only use it to market my future business and possibly to keep my blog page going.

*sigh* I sound like an old lady! lol! But seriously, I miss social media before it was SOCIAL MEDIA. Nowadays, you can share everything about your personal life (thanks, Facebook), as well as share your thoughts about every current event. Which leads me to the second thing I miss, which is not being able to comment on websites. I’m not talking about personal blogs like mine, rather sites like CNN, HuffPost, etc. It’s rare that you find an article on any news website that has multiple thoughtful and respectful comments. (If you know of any, send them my way!) It’s super, super sad. Like, why do we have to berate someone because they shared their opinion?? In real life, you wouldn’t do that, so why do people feel the urge to do it online? I know…they’re sitting behind a computer…blah blah blah. I know, I get it. But…no one finds it weird that people do that? I find it so weird. And furthermore, I’m curious to know if these people have, a) friends, b) friends and c) friends. Seriously! Unless you’re a troll (ha!) that lives under a bridge, why are you attacking people online?? If you have cordial daily interactions with people, then you shouldn’t flip the script and act like an a**hole online, right? Maybe I’m missing something here, but I just find it strange how many people act like buttheads in comments.

If you have no idea what I’m talking about, please visit any article on CNN’s website or Youtube. Goodness, Youtube comments are crazy. And I’ve heard Reddit’s comments are the worst. I don’t really understand Reddit, so I don’t even need to go there.

Anyway, those are things I miss in life. I’m not even kidding you, but sometimes I want to develop a new platform that takes social media back to the ol’ skool way of chatting with each other. But, that’s not going to happen. *lol* For now, I’ll keep myself over here in the blogosphere where things are seemingly going fine. 🙂

I’ll be getting back to the writing challenge now that the holidays are over. So be on the lookout for more. I’m going to try my best to get a post up daily. More than likely, it’ll be every other day though. 🙂

-t

4 thoughts on “Challenge 3 – “Something I Miss”

  1. Leah Montoya

    I get it– really, I do. I have relatives who just became grandparents recently, and also recently retired. When I tell you they share EVERYTHING… any time they leave town, I know about it. When they babysit their grandkids, I know about it. Whenever they eat, I KNOW ABOUT IT. It’s frustrating because they’re family, and I don’t want to feel this way about them, but at the same time, if I see them post one more pic of a seniors breakfast buffet, I just might lose my shit.

    1. Lol!!! It’s like, how did folks ever survive before this sort of sharing, right?! It’s fascinating how some folks just share every single thing! I can understand if they live in another country from family/friends or something like that. But that’s usually not the case with most people that share so often. Then, when you see those people in person, what do you even talk about because you know everything they’ve been doing! It’s like, folks need to save and *savor* some of those moments they share. But I feel you 100%!

  2. Girl! I read this and then listened to your pod cast about things you and Stephen hate about social media. 😀 I agree with *everything* and I learned a few new terms like stunting and subtweeting. 😀

Leave a Reply

