Can I Be Great?

The pressure to be great is real, right? 

I’ve had no shortage of suggestions when it comes to my work-life/career. When you haven’t worked for as long as I have, everyone has a suggestion for what you should do. Too bad, most of those suggestions are things I’m not interested in. #keepingitreal #sorrynotsorry

Listen. I want to be GREAT. Listen again. I WANT TO BE GREAT!! Is that so bad? I mean, don’t we all want to be great!? #questionsthatneedanswers

It’s funny. I’ve heard a million ideas and all of them, while not the worst ideas, are jobs that will never let me be great. They might let me be decent. But I don’t want to be decent. I want to be GREAT!

And sure, those jobs pay real, actual money…money that I** don’t have, so I get it.

I realized a while ago while plotting out plans for my business (not web design. I’ve moved on to something else that will hopefully work out better for the time being), that no one has ever suggested I start a business. No one. Interesting, right? Why is that? It seems like everyone would rather I continue to toil away, applying for job after job (after job after job), getting absolutely nowhere, than to start my own business. [FYI: I’ve probably applied for well over 200 jobs since 2012. I did not apply to anything last year (2014) because…#tired #overit #done #notapplying #dontwanna]

I have had one person give me tons of business ideas when I’ve brought up the idea of starting my own business. But most others are kinda like, ehhhh. Surprisingly, people are not interested or they feign interest…which bums me out a little. I don’t get it. Don’t people want me to be great?! I think working for oneself is pretty great! No? Just me?

Perhaps starting a business isn’t concrete enough for people? Is it too exploratory? Too “out there”? Like, whoa build a business!?! That’s crazy talk, Tray! But every business you frequent was started at some point by someone that wanted to be be great! I keep reminding myself of this when I get a little down. Apple. Microsoft. Amazon. All these awesome companies were just dreams of people that wanted to be great. And I’m sure people thought they were crazy. I guess that’s just what I’ll have to face.

Starting a business is hard work. At times, I don’t know if I can make it work. I have changed my mind several times (to ensure it’s not a complete flop) and I think I’ve settled on what I want to do. It’s going to be in the education realm and it’ll allow me to marry my tech skills with my advising background. Genius! Can’t wait to share more deets. For now, I’m still working out a lot of the logistics, but I think I have a really solid business on my hands. Yay!

-t

**Of course, I am married, so that whole, “what’s his is mine yadda yadda yadda” applies. But…I’ve always worked, so accepting the what’s his is mine concept is still very hard for me at times. I mean, hey, I like it, but I don’t love it. Feel me? There’s a lack of pride and accomplishment I miss about bringing in my own money. That’s just how I roll. Others may not see it that way, but hey, to each their own. 🙂

Leave a Reply

