Friendship…Matters

I try not to envy a lot of things in life, mainly because it’s not healthy to do so (in my opinion). But there is one thing that I do envy (at times) and that’s people who have really strong friendships. Take for instance, Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda. Yes, the ladies of Sex and the City. Talk about friend envy! Of course they’re fictional friends, but I really admired their “ride or die” TV friendship. You see this on a lot of TV shows/movies, where the friends have known each other for years, they do everything together and they have incredible bonds. I just think that’s awesome!

I guess when you move around a bit (out of state/country), friendships can take a hit. You can’t see your friends regularly to continue to develop those bonds. But that’s life, I guess. You just have to deal and try to continue to keep the friendships going as much time allows. These days, people are super busy (so they say) and have a lot going on (allegedly), so keeping strong friendships are hard.

As you can see, I don’t necessarily believe people are soooo busy that they have ZERO time to grab a coffee or have a dinner with a friend. I’m of the mindset that if something/someone is important to you, you make time for it. End of story.

With that said, I feel like I have extremely good friends in my life. I’m very fortunate and blessed to have the group of friends that I do. While I’m living in an area now that allows me to be closer to some friends, I still wish I hadn’t been at such a distance from them for so many years. These days, we have to rely on Facebook, texts, etc to stay in touch. Part of the reason I write my blog, is so that friends can keep up with what I’m doing. I know for some, it’s a lot easier to read a blog post on a phone than to make time to call.

On the flip side of this, I’m the worst at calling people. Seriously, the only person I make an effort to call on the phone is my mom! I’ve never been a big phone person. Once emailing and texting became popular, I was in heaven. But I know talking on the phone is sometimes needed when you can’t physically see people. Still, I’d rather see a friend in person or just email them. I don’t know why I don’t like talking on the phone. I’m just weird like that. 🙂

Anyway, in other news…

So how about that Empire season premiere last night!?! I hope to get a blog post up about that over on Tray B. Says later this evening. That’s the goal. BUT… I feel like I need to re-watch it first. I don’t know how you all felt, but it seemed to go by so fast and I feel like I missed a lot. But hopefully, I’ll have some thoughts posted tonight, if not, then by tomorrow.

ciao!

-t

Leave a Reply

