Riots and Transitions

Seriously, doesn’t it feel like a lot of crazy things are going on lately? Like, more than usual? Is this it, God? Is the world coming to an end?!!

Just kidding. Let me stop being dramatic. Seriously, a LOT has been happening in the last several days. I don’t even know what to make of it all. From the protests turned civil unrest in Baltimore, to the tragic earthquake in Nepal, we need to start seriously praying/thinking positive thoughts to help everyone get through these tragedies. And today, the Supreme Court is hearing a landmark case on marriage equality. Today could be the day that marriage is equal for everyone.

But about these riots…

Last night, Grey’s Anatomy actor Jesse Williams, tweeted out the realest set of tweets ever about the situation in Baltimore. He’s been very active in speaking out against the police shootings that have occurred over the past several months. He also went to Ferguson to protest the shooting of Mike Brown. He is, for all intents and purposes, an activist. It is SO refreshing to see and hear a celebrity not only speak about it, but BE about it. I wish more celebs (no matter the color), would speak up and out about what’s been going on. Anyway, if you are not on Twitter, this article captured all of his eloquent tweets.  Definitely read this, as he brought up a lot of good, valid points. One of which was, “what constitutes a ‘riot’?” and why is it different when white people do it after the loss or win of a sporting event? There is a difference and I think we all know what it is.

There’s also been a narrative going on in the media, one that’s not new, that seems to paint that only poor, Black people riot. This is beyond frustrating and completely untrue. See the point above about white people rioting after the win/loss of a sport’s team. Certainly, they’re not poor, right? After all, they were able to attend a sporting event, which is usually quite expensive (or can be, depending on the team/city).

I’ve said this before, something needs to be done with our nation’s police. Protests create awareness. But what will create change? Does our police system need to go the way of the British system and do away with guns? Maybe. What’s the saying….desperate times call for desperate measures.

Moving on…

Did you all catch the interview Bruce Jenner did with Diane Sawyer? I only caught the first 10-15 minutes. I wasn’t really interested in it because he’s not on my radar. Like, he’s not my favorite celebrity or anything like that. [Although, he’s one of my favorite in that whole Kardashian/Jenner clan.] I knew that if I watched, it would only be because I was being nosy. But man, have there been LOTS of talk about it all.  I don’t really have an opinion on what he’s doing. If he’s going to be happy, then that’s a good thing. I’ve watched a few documentaries about transgendered people and they were heart-wrenching. I can’t even begin to imagine what they’ve been through. However, after reading a variety of comments on blogs/articles, I’ve discovered there’s another side to these stories.

From what I’ve read, there are/were a lot of people outraged/upset that some of his family hadn’t spoken out to support him. I think people are quick to side with Bruce (and other transgendered people) because they hear how confused and conflicted he has been all his life. And it is truly sad that he hadn’t been able to live the way he’s wanted to all these years. But let’s not forget about the families. I cannot even begin to imagine what would be going through my mind if someone extremely close to me (mother, father, sibling, etc) told me they were transitioning. I imagine I would be beyond devastated, to be honest. A person you’ve known your whole life, comes to you and says they no longer will be that person you’ve grown to know and love the past 20, 30, 50+ years. That’s…a lot to handle.

Yesterday, I was reading this blog for women whose husbands were transitioning/had transitioned and it was really eye-opening to hear the other side of the story. Think about it. You don’t really hear the other side of these stories. Well, these women discussed in great detail what they’d been through since their husbands decided to transition. The biggest thing was how alone, saddened and hurt they were because their families and friends immediately showed unwavering support to their husbands. They said that very few friends/family acknowledged the devastation and suffering they were going through with the “loss” of their husband/child’s father. I realized that’s exactly what people were doing with Bruce Jenner. People have instantly come to his side and defense, slamming some of his children who have not immediately come out to support his transition. I’ve literally read comments from people saying that the family needs to come together because it’s not about them, but about what the trans-man or woman is going through.

But what about what the family is going through? Why do people assume this isn’t hard for the family?

What I’m saying is, I’m not so sure the support has to be so one-sided. I think support needs to be given for BOTH sides. And people need to understand that supporting the family doesn’t mean there’s hate/non-support for the person transitioning. It’s really bothersome to me that people see this situation as choosing one side or the other. We can all support everyone. It’s not that hard, or it shouldn’t be.

Anyway, that’s my $0.02 for the day.

Pray for Baltimore. Pray for Nepal.

-t

Leave a Reply

