Confession: I’m Never Bored

The other day, I was sitting here thinking, “Geez, I have a lot of (browser) tabs open”. I hate it when that happens. But yet, I do it every day. This, my friends, is why I’m never bored.

My husband always thinks I’m crazy because I don’t get bored. It’s super, super rare that I get bored. Growing up, I had to find ways to entertain myself. My siblings are much older than me. So when they were teenagers, I was a toddler. When I got to be about 6 or 7, and they were making their way out of the house, I realized I had to make my own fun. I had a great time by myself, too! To this day, I credit that experience for my ability to stay busy and punch boredom in the face! *lol*

I know. It’s weird. How is it possible to get never get bored?

When I was younger, I had a vivid imagination, read a lot and of course, I had plenty of toys. But today, I have this:

Screen Shot 2015-04-03 at 5.43.38 PM
(Websites from L to R: Morphe Brushes, WordPress, “new tab”, Forbes, Lipstick Alley, Twitter, Writer’s Digest, Facebook and Youtube)

This shows the links I had open on my computer the other day. [Click the picture to make it bigger.] With the internet, how does anyone get bored?! There’s SO much to see and do! And just when I think I might get bored, I find something new to entertain me. It’s glorious!

NOTE: The only two sites in the screenshot that I don’t peruse daily are Morphe and Writer’s Digest.

So what do I look at on a daily basis?

WordPress – This is what I use to blog. If you ever want to start a blog, I highly recommend this site. It is a little involved, but I’m happy to help you learn to use it.

Forbes – We’ve all heard of Forbes, right? I follow them on Twitter, so I tend to visit their page via their tweets. I usually read articles about housing, jobs, entrepreneurship, and finance. I also like their “Top 10 (20, 50, etc)” articles.

Lipstick Alley – This is a gossip message board. It is not for the faint of heart. It is brutal. BRUTAL. But for some reason, I find it entertaining. The site originated from folks gossiping about the sports industry (I believe it was for the wives and girlfriends of professional athletes). It has since become more than just gossip about sports. There’s literally something here for everyone. Oh, and there are quite a few young folks on the boards (think college-aged), so you maaaay not always see intelligent discourse if you check it out. 🙂

Twitter – We know what this is, so no explanation needed. This is my favorite social media app. Find me @trayrific.

Facebook – Self-explanatory.

Youtube – Self-explanatory. I’m mostly subscribed to makeup & natural hair channels. But I’m also subscribed to two yoga channels, two entertainment channels and a book review channel. Outside of the channels I’ve subscribed to, I usually watch videos in those same categories (love makeup videos), unless something else catches my eye.

Apartment Therapy – I look at this for inspiration. I’m a little peeved with them though because in the last year or so, they’ve gotten really boring with showcasing the same type of homes. So I don’t go here as much as I used to.

Amazon – Duh, this is a no-brainer. If you don’t go to Amazon at least a few times a week, you’re no friend of mine! Ha! Just kidding…..sorta. 😉 I think I go to Amazon 4-5 times a week. I know, I know. But I’ve told you all before, I like nice things. 🙂  Sometimes, when I can’t have nice things, I still like to look at nice things. And add them to my “save for later” cart. 🙂

These are my go-to sites. I also peruse Pinterest, but I tend to do that on my phone. It’s just easier. I also check out: Real Simple (for recipes and domestic goddess goodies), The Kitchn (recipes), and a couple of tech sites (The Next Web & Web Designer Depot).

See? Never, ever bored. So next time you find yourself bored (parents, I assume you are never bored because…child(ren).  But if you are…), come see me. I’ll find something to entertain you!

-t

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Confession: I’m Never Bored

Leave a Reply

