Daily Blog #8 – Favorite Things

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Question. Why was “brown paper packages tied up with strings” one of Maria’s favorite things? Isn’t that weird? But now that I think about it, I guess it’s kind of cute. Ok, Maria, I see you! *lol* Alright ya’ll, it’s

Favorite Things Week!!

So this week, I’ll be sharing some of my favs in life. And I’m all sorts of behind, but I’ll make it work. I thought about this earlier and decided, why not start with the obvious: my love of writing.

Writing is the ultimate form of expression for me. Words can be so powerful. Sometimes, I don’t know if we always appreciation them. Most times, I think we tend to abuse them, especially now in the wonderful world of social media. If you read comments on any article, you’re sure to find some terrible things. Such a shame. And while I love Twitter and texting, these things are slowly but surely killing the English language. I should tell you about the emails I’d receive from students when I was in my last job. I don’t know if you want to hear that, about 90-95% of the students that sent me emails, probably never learned how to compose a formal letter. Most times, I received an email with no salutation, multiple spelling and grammatical errors and no closing. A vast majority of them sounded as if they were emailing a friend and not an advisor. *sigh* It was terrible, to say the least. But, no, you don’t want to hear that story.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

One of my favorite things about writing, is the actual writing. I love to handwrite! I mentioned in a previous blog that I still keep a physical journal. I love technology, but computers have really taken away the joy that is writing. Which brings me to, what’s up with kids not learning cursive any more!? That makes no sense…at all! Who’s bright idea was that? I don’t understand. And I guess I’m old school, but just because we use computers, doesn’t mean we shouldn’t learn cursive writing. What about signing our names on things like checks or contracts for homes/apartments? I know, who writes checks any more…I get it. I’d venture to think we all still need checks for something, right? I don’t know, it’s just…strange. But I digress.

Handwriting is becoming a lost art and that’s so sad to me. I pride myself on my impeccable handwriting. Oh, yes, I’m bragging! *lol* I won handwriting awards in school, baby!! If I feel like it, I can print so well, it can look as if it had been typed. Mmmhmm, I’m awesome. 🙂

More than just being able to handwrite well, the act of using your hand to write words is so…well, it’s pretty amazing, right? If you think about it, it’s probably one of the only creative things we can all learn to do. And if we practice just a little, we can do it pretty well. Think about painting or drawing. That takes real skill and lots of practice. Frankly, I’d say it takes innate talent. But obviously, anyone can learn to draw/paint if they really take the time to learn and develop the skill. Same with sculpting. But with handwriting, we can practice (starting in kindergarten, but mostly in the 1st-2nd grades, if I remember correctly) and we can be pretty good at it. We don’t have to take years and years to become good at this creative skill. I don’t know, but I think that’s pretty neat. 🙂

Beyond all of that though, handwriting is cathartic in and of itself. Yes, to express yourself in writing is cathartic, but handwriting is so soothing to me. Some people meditate to calm themselves, to become or regain focus. I write. Writing and handwriting is my meditation. Writing is the way I release every pent up emotion. While writing this blog is great, I’d love to actually handwrite it. There’s something about putting pen or pencil to paper that makes me feel free and fearless. I feel like I can do anything when I write. Typing, well…it’s good, but it’s not the same as handwriting. Perhaps it’s because I have to use my brain just a bit more to actually tell my hand to form letters, then words and then sentences. I don’t know…I’m just writing out loud. 🙂

Well, that’s all I’ve got for the day. I didn’t expect this to be so long! But I’ll try to get back here later with another blog. Trying to play catch up and failing. BUT, I’m WINNING over at traybsays.com, so check me out there! I shared my thoughts about some of the Grammy fashion!

-t

3 thoughts on “Daily Blog #8 – Favorite Things

  1. I definitely agree about the cursive handwriting. Why would they stop teaching that? Kids will grow into adults and still need to sign documents. Unless they are going to be signing papers for the car and house online. Crazy isnt it? Handwriting is definitely how we can express ourselves. It just doesn’t compare to just sitting at a laptop tapping the keyboard. The pen strokes are much more satisfying. I like your blog design by the way! 🙂

    1. It is so crazy they’re not teaching cursive…or at least some schools have stopped teaching it. It’s just odd. And thanks re: the design! I’m thinking about changing it up soon, but I’m trying to show restraint, lol!

Leave a Reply

