My Mariah Carey Christmas Gift!!

This past Saturday, the husby surprised me with the best Christmas gift: Mariah Carey!!!

Me and Mariah!
Me and Mariah!

If you don’t know, I’ve been a Mariah fan since day one.

“Me and Mariah, go back like babies and pacifiers!”

I heard ” Vision of Love” on the radio and was an instant fan. I still have the cassette! [If you don’t know what a cassette is, ummm, yeahhh. Google it?] Now, while I’d like to say I own all of her music, seen her in concert a million times, and know every single thing about her, I can’t. Remember that post I made about obsessing? Yeah, I just don’t do that. However, I guess my love for Mariah could be labeled as “slightly obsessive”? 😀 I DO own about half her music (I stopped buying music regularly a long time ago, and that included buying hers as well). And since Mariah rarely tours, I haven’t seen her in person at all. My first time seeing her was last year! I know! And this past Friday was the second time. *squeeeeeal*

And she was amazing!! AMAZING!!!!!!! Seriously, she was absolutely fantastic. As a huge fan, it pains me to read about her “declining vocals”. And it was horrible to see the recent articles regarding her Rockefeller Christmas performance. 😦  Well let me tell ya, I witnessed “The Voice” firsthand. She hasn’t lost not one part of her vocals. NOT ONE!!! I think the Rockefeller show was tough on her because she had literally just gotten back from her Asia/Australia tour. I think she’d only been back in the States for less than a week. I was surprised she even did the Rock show because I imagined she’d need to rest her voice. But I assume she sucked it up because she probably didn’t want to cancel. You know how folks start talking about people that cancel shows. Unfortunately, she got talked about anyway. *sigh* She probably should’ve canceled, but oh well. Too late now!

Anyway, if anyone had any doubt that she was done, let me assure you, she is not! She may not sell as many records as she used to, but her voice is all the way here and there and everywhere! It was powerful and just as stunning as it has always been. She sung “O Holy Night” and I seriously teared up at the end. It was beautiful and she hit so many high notes in that song. I was like, “oooh girl, save some of that for the rest of the show!” But she didn’t need to because she ready! *sigh* Can you tell I’m gushing endlessly here? Yes, yes I am. It was just that good. And let me be the first to say, I’m not one of those fans that thinks she can do no wrong. Oh no no no. I am the first to admit when she does not sound great or has a bad album (I’m looking at you “Memoirs of an Imperfect Angel”. THIS is her worst album ever! Even more so than Glitter!! But I digress). But I still love her, even when she went a little coo-coo back in the day 😉  *sigh* I love my crazy diva!

But, while I was on my Mariah high (still am, I’ve been playing songs all day today), I found this little nugget on the Wiki. Check this out. This was from an interview she did with VIBE magazine in 1998:

“I have nodules on my vocal cords. My mother says I’ve had them since I was a kid. That’s why I have the high register and the belting register and I can still be husky. A lot of people couldn’t sing through the nodules the way I do; I’ve learned to sing through my vocal cords. The only thing that really affects my voice is sleep. Sometimes if I’m exhausted, I can’t hit the really high notes. My doctors showed me my vocal cords and why I can hit those high notes. It’s a certain part of the cord that not many people use—the very top. My natural voice is low. I have a raspy voice. I’m really more of an alto. But my airy voice can be high if I’m rested. […] When I was little, I’d talk in this really high whisper, and my mom would be like, ‘You’re being ridiculous’. I thought if I can talk like that I can sing like that. So I started just messing around with it. I’d practice and practice, and she’d be like, ‘You’re gonna hurt yourself’. I’d tell her, it doesn’t hurt. If I were to try and belt two octaves lower than that, that would be a strain.”

—Carey on her usage of the whistle register

Pretty interesting, right? So next time folks wanna talk sh— Oh, nevermind. Let me leave it alone and just say…

Happy holidays everyone!!

p.s. If you’d like to watch a little of the concert, well, look at what I found! Thank you Youtube 🙂  I was hesitant to put this up because phone videos are kinda ehh. You tend to hear more music/audience, than the person singing. So, yes, I’m going to say, you had to be there! But this video was fairly decent, so I decided to post it. This is from the night we went, so that’s why I chose this particular video. The person filming moves around a bit, which is annoying, but they did get a nice (mostly) clear and steady shot of Mariah. AND you get to hear 4 songs! Woot!

2 thoughts on “My Mariah Carey Christmas Gift!!

    1. OMG, that’s so awesome you saw her in Manila!!! I wish she’d tour in the US. If she ever decides to, I’m SO going to see her! 🙂

Leave a Reply

