Facebook (and Twitter) Free!

It’s been one week since I’ve decided to take a break from social media, namely Twitter and Facebook. I am still posting pics on Instagram, but for some reason, that doesn’t count as social media to me. I know, I know…it is, but it’s different.

I think between Facebook and Twitter, I definitely don’t miss Facebook. Twitter, on the other hand, provided me with up-to-the-minute news and I really love that aspect. Now, my husband has to be my informant for what’s happening in the world. I mean, sure, I could watch the news, but truth be told, it’s too slow! *lol* Twitter is everywhere! People can report what’s happening in a matter of seconds. It’s really great. I miss it, but I shall remain steadfast in my quest to complete my hiatus! 🙂

So on the 3rd day of my hiatus, my husband presented me with a good question: “So now that you’re not on Facebook and Twitter, uhh, what do you do all day?” 

That’s a loaded question for someone who, A) is unemployed and B) is on a social media break.  I mean, gosh, thinking about it (and reading that sentence) it sounds like I’d be quite bored, doesn’t it? But guess what? I’m not bored at all. As I tell my husband constantly, I never get bored. No, seriously, it takes a LOT for me to get bored. A LOT! Remember folks, I’m the baby of my family and my sibs are MUCH older than me. Growing up, I definitely felt like an only child at times. Therefore, I ALWAYS found something to do!

*shouts* THE WORLD IS VAST, PEOPLE!! THERE IS NO TIME FOR BOREDOM!! THERE’S MUCH TO SEE AND DO!!! *end shouting*

So that’s my answer. I’m not bored and instead of being on social media all day, which was such a distraction, I’m finally making an effort to achieve some goals I have. You know, I’m over here trying to build a business! Social media was really getting in the way of that. Also, I have another plan up my sleeve and I’ve been working on that as well. I seriously feel like The Brain! I’m trying to take over the worrrrrlllllllddddd!! *evil laugh*

I love evil laughs!

So, when do I plan to return to the old social media? That’s a good question. I’m shooting for a month, so that looks like November 9. Honestly, I don’t know if I’ll return to Facebook. The only reason I’d stay, is to post my blog on my blog’s FB page (if you haven’t joined it, you should. It’s awesome! *lol*). Other than that, I might delete FB. Who knows. We’ll see!

I hate to say it, but it has been pure bliss not being on Facebook. For all the reasons I mentioned in my last post, Facebook is just full of stuff no one wants. Ok, it’s stuff I don’t want. *lol* And I dislike contributing to the stuff that no one wants or cares about. Seriously, I feel like I share things just for the sake of sharing. Why? Because…peer pressure!! How in the world do I have peer pressure at this age!? I’ll tell you how. Facebook! It’s really terrible. But I see people doing great things, taking fab trips, living an awesome life and I feel like, “Oh my gosh, I gotta keep up!!” But then I think, “Really? What’s the point?!” Besides, no one’s life is that great or happy all the time. Hey, I like happy and great things! But Facebook encourages people to go above and beyond. People become braggadocious and that’s not cool. Share the good times, but geez, sharing how awesome life is more than once twice three times a day is absurd. NO ONE is that damn happy all day!! 🙂

Honestly, the one thing that bugs me the most about FB (and the main reason I needed a break), was all of the stuff I see from people I don’t even know! In case you were unaware, FB loves to share things about people you don’t know in your feed.

For example, you know that message your friend wrote on your wall yesterday? I saw it, too. Oh, and remember that goofy pic your friend posted on their own page and you commented on it? I saw your comment. And you know that comment you made on your friend’s status? I saw it, along with the rest of the comments from other people…that I DON’T KNOW!! Facebook has become a sheer nightmare when it comes to sharing. And of course, there’s no way to stop seeing things, unless… I hide people.

Have I hidden friends? Absolutely! I’m sorry, but a girl’s gotta do, what a girl’s gotta do. Because on top of seeing things from people I don’t know, I obviously see all the things from people I DO know (which I thought was the main point of FB). Seeing all the statuses, the pics and OH, my fav…ALL the pages (yesss, I can see that you like the Dave Matthews Band page, as well as Oprah, Scandal, Real Housewives and any other page you “like”. Why do I need to see what PAGES you like!? More importantly, why do you see all the pages I like!?). It’s just ridiculous and I needed a b-r-e-a-k!

Does anyone remember Facebook Lite? Google it. It was glorious. 

Ha, ya know we’re all living out Zuckerberg’s dream, right? He creates a system so he can make friends without really making friends, so he can feel like he has friends. While some may say it’s genius, I say it’s creepy. Ok. I also say it’s genius. Clearly it is because the man is a freakin’ billionaire. #onlyinAmerica

Anyway, enough of my ranting. 😛

See ya in November…maybe!

-t

Leave a Reply

