Birthday Reflections

My 36th birthday has come and gone. Thank you SO MUCH for all of the lovely birthday wishes on Twitter, FB, Instagram, text and email! I had a wonderful weekend celebrating with a few close friends.

Every year, I am thankful to see a new year on this Earth. I know, that seems a bit cliché to say, but it’s true. We ALL should feel very lucky/blessed to continue to live and grow for as long as we possibly can. And as usual, each year I reflect upon my life and think about what I’ve done over the past years and what I hope to do in the years to come.

I posted a few quotes on Facebook the other day, that really resonated with me and what I want for the future:

allow

At some point in my life, this quote hit me like a ton of bricks. Since I’ve realized this, I’ve made a valiant attempt to make changes wherever I’ve needed to in life. Essentially, what it comes down to is this: If you don’t like something, change it. Simple as that. Yes, it’s easier said than done, BUT if you really aren’t pleased in life, there IS a way to change it. Are you in a crappy job? Are you frustrated in a relationship? Don’t like your hair? “What you allow is what will continue” applies to so many things in life. Sure, some things will take time to change. Some things won’t be easy to change. But, EVERYTHING can be changed if you believe and have faith that they can and will be changed. [Read The Secret. The Law of Attraction is real.]

falling

Staying positive is hard when everything seems to NOT go your way. Trust me, things haven’t gone exactly the way I’ve wanted them to in the last five years! BUT, guess what? There are SO many things that HAVE gone my way. I got married, which I was starting to think would never happen. I moved out of NYC!! I’m healthy! I have food and shelter! I have great friends and family….the list can go on! I’m not where I thought I’d be at this time in life, but the place I’m in is pretty awesome! Staying positive and having faith in God are the only things that have allowed me to get to where I am today. Do you know someone that’s negative/pessimistic? We all know at least one person that doesn’t seem to see the bright side of things. Hey, I look at it like this. Not happy with your life? Guess what? You could be… well…you could be dead.

I know. That’s harsh. But I’m just saying, things could ALWAYS be worse! STAY POSITIVE, folks! And this leads me to…

meanttobe

I love this quote. Sometimes, some of us have to take the lonnnnng route to where we want to go. That’s ok. We’ll get there eventually. We live in a society where many of us try to plan out every little bit of life. Whether it’s when we want to get married, have kids, get another degree, retire, etc, etc. The truth of the matter is, we just can’t plan it all out. We’ve all heard this before, but it’s true. So, if you’re not quite where you want to be, that’s ok. You’re meant to be right where you are. If you’re a faithful person, trust that God is working in your favor. He’s setting it all up for you! I look at how badly I wanted to move out of NYC. It took a long time, but MAN, our new place was well worth the wait! Sometimes, you just have to wait. Patience is truly a virtue. If we can be happy right where we are, right now, our patience will pay off tremendously! Be patient friends, because “what’s meant for you, will not pass you by”.

vacation

This quote is self-explanatory. This is my goal and I’m sticking to it! 🙂

awesome

There are a lot of awesome people in the world. I’m trying to be one of them. I know, I know… I’m already awesome 🙂  But I want to be even MORE awesome! Is that even possible??

Why, yes…yes it is. 🙂

cookie

Finally, this quote reminds me that while we should always try to be (and do) the best we can, sometimes, life gets a little sticky. Sometimes, our plans fail. Sometimes, we have a bad day. It’s ok. Have a cookie (or two. Ok, five), pick yourself up and get back on track! We always hear the saying, “Life is short”. Well, I like Chris Rock’s saying better:

“You know, some people say life is short and that you could get hit by a bus at any moment and that you have to live each day like it’s your last. Bullshit. Life is long. You’re probably not gonna get hit by a bus. And you’re gonna have to live with the choices you make for the next fifty years.”

Whether you believe life is short or long, we have to learn that it’s not the end of the world if something doesn’t go our way. Life isn’t going to be perfect all the time and that’s ok. If times get rough, have a cookie, regroup and try again. Because more often than not, we WILL live to see another day to be and do our best!

Alrighty, that’s all I got!

Again, thank you all so much for the birthday wishes!!! I look forward to what this new year brings me!

-t

p.s. Random fact, but from Sept 23rd – Oct 12th, I have a LOT of friends and family with birthdays!! YAY for LIBRAS!! #TeamLibra #balanced #scales 🙂

Leave a Reply

