My Childhood FAQs (4)

Hola mis amigos!

I thought I’d do a short list of facts from my childhood. These are in no particular order. Enjoy!

1. I attended Catholic school from 1st – 12th grades.

a. I attended 3 different schools. One from 1st-3rd, another from 4th-6th and the final one from 7th-12th grades.

b. I only attended public school for kindergarten.

i. One time, my family was late picking me up and I was TERRIFIED!! (FYI: I just went back into the school to wait in the office. I was totally fine. And someone came to pick me up about five minutes later.) 🙂

2. When I was in 4th grade, I wanted my name to be spelled “Tracie”. I thought that was such a cute spelling of Tracey. But alas, I came to my senses and went back to the real spelling.

3. When I was younger, my parents didn’t read to/with me. (I know! How dare they not read to me! Ha! Ehhh, it’s ok. As an adult [heck, even as a child], I don’t/didn’t care. They worked hard. They were tired. I cared more about food and toys, haha) BUT… I LOVED reading and my parents bought me tons and tons of books (see, they made up for not reading to me). My love for reading is what led me to wanting to write books. I was 8 years old and thought, “I can SO write a book!” haha!

4. My mom said I had 3 imaginary friends when I was little. I don’t remember this AT ALL! I think she’s making this up. 🙂

5. I’m the youngest of six children. Yup, they had me and finally got it right! *LOL* (juuust kidding Shirley….I know you’re reading this!)

a. I’m pretty sure my siblings think I was spoiled. Ehhh, that may or may not be true. 😉

b. When I graduated from college, my parents bought me a Jeep! (Ok, so I might be spoiled.)

6. I’m definitely a daddy’s girl.

a. My dad loved buying me clothes when I was little. Man, I had the best dresses when I was little! Thanks, dad! 🙂 🙂

7. When I was little, I told my mom that I would never stop loving toys, especially Barbie dolls.

a. I stopped loving toys.

b. I tried collecting Barbies though, back when I was in my 20s. I have 3. #womp #collectorfail

8. I started wearing glasses in the 2nd grade. They did not make cute glasses back in the 80s. #CokeBottles

a. I finally got contacts in the 8th grade.

b. I’m almost legally blind in one eye. Yeah, I CANNOT see. If I don’t have glasses/contacts on, it’s just a blurry, blurry situation for me.

(c. Funny, my husband and I share the same contact prescription! What are the chances?? #wecantsee)

9. I was more into TV than music when I was younger. I didn’t get into music until high school.

a. Growing up, my parents were big Motown fans, especially my dad. So I grew up listening to a lot of soul and R&B.

(i. Thus, when I say I really like GOOD music, I know what I’m talking about! #iLoveTheOldies)

b. I loved Christmas as a kid because we’d listen to a lot of Mahalia Jackson and Motown Christmas songs.

c. My dad would play the music on a reel-to-reel player. #oldoldschool #vintage #goodmemories

10. We used to go to Toronto almost every summer when I was growing up. I absolutely love Toronto! If the winters weren’t so freaking cold, I would seriously consider living there.

11. As a wee tyke, there were two things that I loved: my rainbow plaid blanket (I believe it was my receiving blanket) and a small brown teddy bear. The bear played, “Knick Knack, Paddy Whack”. I THINK I still have that bear…maybe. I don’t know what happened to the blanket.

12. This is sad, but both sets of my grandparents had passed before I was able to know them.

a. My dad’s mom passed by the time I was 2 or 3, so she did get to meet me 🙂

b. My dad told me this cute story about how I was trying to describe a stuffed dog’s tail to my grandma. I kept saying “foot” and she’d say, “No, it’s his tail”…we went back and forth because I insisted it was his foot. haha!

13. I have 3 memories from when I was still in diapers:

a. The first memory is, I was in my crib and I woke up from a nap. I remember yelling, “Ma! Ma! Ma!” over and over again. Nothing. I cried for a little. Then, I started looking at my crib and remembered that there was something on the corner of the crib that my parents would pull to let the side slide down. I found the little knob, but I couldn’t pull it hard enough. Then I remembered, there was another knob on the opposite side. I had to pull them both! I couldn’t do it, but I tried! Fortunately, my mom came and got me. Yay!

b. Gross, but true, I remember potty training. *LOL* I will not go into more details. It was just one memory, not the whole trial and tribulations of that experience. haha!

c. Finally, I remember being pushed in a stroller on our way to K-Mart. Yup, that’s very random, but I remember it!

So, parents, when you don’t think your kids will remember things from when they’re very small, don’t be too sure they won’t! haha!

14. Back when I was about 3 or 4, my dad worked the night shift and my mom worked afternoons. Most times, my dad would be sleeping when it was time for my mom to go to work. So, when it was time for her to leave, she’d sit me in bed next to my dad with this small black and white TV. I’d watch cartoons until he woke up or until my sisters would come home. Sometimes, maybe between commercials (haha), I would pull one of his eyelids open! I would think, “Why isn’t he awake yet?” haha! And he wouldn’t budge at all! #heavysleeper

Last one,

15. In the house we used to live in up until I was about 6 years old, our next door neighbor used to grow tomatoes. He’d always give us bags full of them. He’d give us cherry tomatoes and I’d eat them for days! (I still really love tomatoes). He’d also give my mom larger green ones and she’d make fried green tomatoes. SO GOOD!!!

If I can think of another set of fun facts, I’ll post some more soon.

FOUR MORE DAYS!! #birthday

-t

5 thoughts on “My Childhood FAQs (4)

  1. You’re so cute, Tracey. :0) When I was four I told my mom I was going to marry Neil Diamond, and I would have my dad replay over and over N.D.’s “I Am the Lion” on the reel-to-reel. http://youtu.be/13Ls7gemgQE lol

    And also when I was 4, I was grounded for the first time for two weeks. I’d left the front yard, taking a 2 yr old friend with me, we crossed a highway to go to my uncle’s house to play in his sandbox. In my defense, it was a fun sandbox. And it’s not my fault I knew how to get there from our car drives over. … An additional sign for my parents that I was going to be a handful. :0)

    Fun post with a good message, Tracey! :0) ❤

    1. Aww you have cute stories too!! And yay for reel-to-reel! I loved ours. I was sad we had to part with it a long time ago. You were very adventurous! I didn’t get more adventurous until my teen years. I snuck out of the house a few times to see a boyfriend. 🙂 I can’t believe I did that when I think about it now, but it was definitely fun/exciting at the time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

