Happy September and…Stuff

September is my favorite month, simply because it’s my birthday month!!! Otherwise, I’m not a fan of September because that means warm weather will soon be leaving. 😦  I do love fall, but I feel like the climate has been so wonky lately, we barely get real fall weather out here on the east coast. I feel like I don’t really remember the last time we had a fall that actually lasted a few months before winter set in. But, I’m looking forward to wearing “bootsandpantsandbootsandpants”. 🙂 (If you don’t know where that’s from, here you go.)

I have nothing else to say (surprised?) at the moment. Well…I’m planning to write about a few topics, but I’m trying to figure out my approach for those posts. I was thinking about writing race and racism. It’s obviously a big issue these days and whether we like it or not, it needs to be talked about. But it needs more than just talk, it needs action. What sort of action? I don’t really know, but I just feel like, we can talk and talk until the cows come home. We need to take action and those actions need to be sincere. Seriously, I sit here and think, “Are we ever going to stop judging/hating/disliking/etc someone because of their skin color?” I mean, in 2014, we still have racist people. Folks are still being hated and judged because of their color. I mean, marinate on that. That sh*t is so deep.

And sometimes I think about, and can’t believe, how my parents grew up in a time where things were separate and worse than what they are now. One time, my dad told me about when he was young and they (his parents and siblings) would go on road trips. He said my grandma would pack all this food because they couldn’t stop along the way because… well, RACISM! I mean, that sh*t brings tears to my eyes. I can’t even believe those times existed. And I think, wow, you’re my dad and you’re so awesome. To think someone would just assume my dad is anything except awesome because he’s Black….wow…. think about that. Think if that happened to your family. Think about someone HATING you because you had blond hair. Think about someone HATING you because you had green eyes. Think about it. There are folks going through that crap every.single.day. Every day! Hated. For no reason except they don’t look a certain way. 

That sh*t is deep. 

Ok, sorry for the tangent. But that’s just what I’ve been thinking and I want to write more about it, but it’s a heavy topic. I understand why people don’t want to have conversations about it. I don’t know if I can have the conversation, but I’ll try. Anyway…

happy September!? Yeah, I totally Debbie Downed the moment. *lol*  My bad.

Umm, my birthday is on 9/26!!!! I will happily accept any checks, cards, gifts, etc. 🙂 Oh, I take Paypal. 🙂 

Ok, I’m done. Have a good Tuesday!

-t

Leave a Reply

