Happy 6, Babe!

Back in the day, I dated a lot. I’m not saying this to brag, I’m saying it because it’s a fact! *lol* I started dating at age 14 (against my parent’s wishes). I wasn’t trying to date, it just sorta happened. I had a very…interesting first boyfriend. I’m not going to get into it because I have this weird feeling he knows about this blog. Maybe. I don’t know. It’s fine if he does, but yeah, I’m going to spare everyone the trip down memory lane. Anyway, I started dating EARLY. (I really don’t know what I’m going to do if I ever have a daughter. Lock her up in her room until she’s 18? *lol*) So, when I say I’ve dated a lot, I’ve dated a lot.

Along the way, I’ve had a few serious boyfriends. All were actually really great, but you know how things go…”timing” or the ubiquitous “it’s not me, it’s you” stuff. Ehh, what can you do? Well, you move on.

Fast forward to May 2008.

I moved back home after grad school. No job. I was 29. What a low! Ugh. Back home. In the same damn room from childhood. I moved out for college at 17 and hadn’t lived at home since then. Until that moment. So NOT cool. But there I was, trying to get it together, find work… yadda yadda yadda. Not thinking ONE bit about dating. NOT. ONE. BIT!!

but. (a small ‘but’)

I did pray a small prayer. I prayed that IF I were to date while I was in this weird place in life, the guy had to posses just a few things I really wanted in my next significant other. I didn’t bank on really dating, let alone finding someone that met my every need. But just in case, I decided to put it out there. I mean, we’re told to pray for things that we want, right? As long as it is the Lord’s will, then we shall reap the fruits of our prayers.

Well, a couple of weeks or so after I moved home, I started chatting more with this guy that I had known forever. We’ll call him Mr. B. 🙂

Mr. B and I had met back in 1998 through a mutual friend. I have to be honest, I really didn’t (still don’t *lol*) remember much about the day we met (I know, so sad). Apparently, we went to the movies with a group of people. (I vaguely remember that outing.) Then, sometime after that, supposedly Mr. B and I hung out a few times. Sadly, I don’t remember these outings either! I know! I’m a terrible person. But, Mr. B was a quiet kinda guy back in the day. 🙂 I DO remember him emailing his famous Black Friday shopping lists every year though. Mr. B is a huge Black Friday shopper and would share his knowledge of all the sales with his friends. Unfortunately, we graduated and didn’t have much communication with one another for a long time.

Mr. B and I began hanging out quite a bit and talking just about every day on the phone or via internet chat. He was just as sweet as I remembered. Every weekend, we’d go out. After a while, it hit me: I prayed for him! And he’s here! He’s a real live guy with everything I asked the Lord for!!

Very early into our dating, Mr. B revealed that he felt like I was The One. Yes, the one he’d marry. I couldn’t believe it. I couldn’t believe it because… I felt the same way! I’d never felt like that before, I really thought I was crazy. But, it was true. We were meant to be. 🙂

And so we are, to this day, forever blessed to be with one another. It’s weird to say “happy anniversary” since we have a wedding anniversary to celebrate too. So, I’ll just say, “HAPPY 6, BABE!” I love you more than words can express! XOXO

us

 -t

p.s. I think this marks the end of my #30DaysOfBlogging! I think I started July 25th? I can’t remember. But I’ve blogged a lot in the past month, which was a fun challenge. There’s a lot of things to talk about! And there’s still more to share. I’m in the midst of learning some fun web development things, so I’ll commit to blogging at least twice a week for now. We’ll see how it goes. Ciao! 

 

One thought on “Happy 6, Babe!

  1. Congrats! We got married the same year. Happy 6th! Cherish it. Marriage requires a constant renewing, refreshing, and reviving because it is easy to get caught up in the day-to-day. Anniversaries are times when you can focus on the love you’ve shared over the years. You guys are a beautiful couple. May you have many more anniversaries ahead and may your love grow stronger each year.

Leave a Reply

