Quick Oscar Notes

Did you guys watch the Oscars!? I did! I’m not the biggest movie buff, but I do enjoy them and I love watching the Oscars. Clearly I’m not an actor, but I think of the excitement they all must feel at this time. The biggest award an actor/actress can win to prove that all the hard work they put into a role, finally paid off and was recognized. Pretty exciting!

I was able to see The Wolf of Wall Street, American Hustle and Twelve Years A Slave before the show. I was very happy TYAS won Best Pic. If you haven’t seen it, SEE IT! It’s a deep, intense movie, but it was so moving and well done.

I loved Wolf of Wall St as well, in fact, I’d see it again. Leo DiCap was fantastic. American Hustle… hm… it wasn’t as good as I thought it would be based on all the buzz. I did enjoy the acting, but I thought the story was a bit weak. It started off well, got a bit boring in the middle, picked up and then ended so-so. I don’t know… I just thought it would be much better. And speaking of that, I didn’t understand why everyone thought Jennifer Lawrence was so amazing in it. She did well, but I thought of 3 other actresses that could’ve played her part and played it better. I also couldn’t reconcile that she was playing Christian Bale’s wife in it. That was too weird for me. I think JLaw is a good actress, I just didn’t think her part in AH was Oscar-worthy.

I still want to see Dallas Buyers Club, Her and Gravity. So many good movies out this year. Oh, and I’d like to see Frozen too!

Overall, I thought the show was good. I love Ellen, so I thought she did a great job. I think every year, they should get a comedian to host. I just think comedians do a much better job at hosting. I thought the pizza thing, the selfie and all of that was fun. It was different. People apparently were annoyed with that stuff and thought it just added to the length of the show. I mean, let’s face it folks, the Oscars is a four hour show. We all know this, so if you don’t like it, don’t watch. DVR it and fast forward through the boring parts. Or just watch clips the next day on Oscar.com. Seriously, I don’t understand why everyone complains EVERY year that it’s too long. All I can say is, be lucky you’re not an actor that HAS to go and sit there for four hours!

Anyway, that’s my time.

Tomorrow: My favorite websites! I writing about my top 5 favorite websites I like to peruse. 🙂

-t

Leave a Reply

