Thoughts at 35 – Healthy Living

We’re 15 days into the new year! Did you make any resolutions? How’s it going?

I normally don’t make resolutions, but I do try to use the start of a new year to give myself a fresh start on achieving various goals. At the start of last year, I was preparing for my wedding. So naturally, my goal was to look amazing in my wedding dress! But I decided to push that goal beyond the wedding day and truly get healthy for the year. As far as food was concerned, I had changed my eating habits back in my mid-20s. So it was just a matter of being more consistent in my food choices. But as far as exercising went, that was truly the challenge. For me, exercising was something I did very sporadically (read: not at all). But thanks to a few friends, I was able to sustain the motivation I needed to exercise and keep it going even after the wedding.

This year, I’m still working on my goal of living a healthy lifestyle. When I turned 35 back in September, I realized more than ever that I really wanted to live as healthy as I could. And more importantly, I wanted to be able to sustain that lifestyle. Since we’ve been living in NYC, I’ve come to notice something that really makes my heart hurt. As many of you know, NYC is a walking city. You pretty much walk everywhere or use public transportation. It didn’t take long for me to notice how hard it was/is for many older people to get around the city. Whether they’re just walking down the street or going up/down the steps of the subway, it is a struggle. And that happens of course, as we age, our mobility decreases. But get this. Not only do I see older people having trouble, but younger people as well! So I started thinking, I don’t want to be like that now or as I get older. I want to be able to get around well for as long as possible.

Mobility is one thing, but also I started thinking about all of the illnesses that people may experience as a result of poor eating and lack of exercise. I won’t say that I’ve done extensive research, but last year, I started watching documentaries about food. I’ve watched at least five that mainly discuss how our food is handled/processed, but also how food affects our bodies. Essentially, they discuss how if we ate better, we are better equipped to fight off diseases/illnesses as we age. Since watching these docs, I’ve shifted our eating over to more organic and whole foods. I may discuss this more in another blog, but for now, I’ll say that I feel a LOT better in my body because of this change.

What it comes down to is choices. I figured, if I made better choices, I could live a better life. It sounds simple, right? Well, it is!

What are you doing this year to live a better, healthy life? What choices are you making, so you can live well?

-t

Leave a Reply

