Checking In With The Body

Do you meditate? Do you eat well? Do you exercise? If not, maybe it’s time to check in with the body.

Since September, I’ve been doing yoga. I started out doing it 4-5 days a week in September, then went to 3-4 days in October. November, I did it even less, maybe 1-2 times a week. December, I went down to once a week. I tend to get bored with working out. But let me be frank, I really dislike working out. There’s just something about moving my body rigorously that just makes me not like it. Perhaps it was all the cheerleading I did back in the day. I don’t know. I just want to sit. All day. Well, maybe not all day. I do take the occasional trip to the bathroom. 🙂

Before I got married, I made it a goal to work out and get my body more toned for the big day. I worked out consistently from Jan – Aug of 2013. I worked out about 4-5 days/week before the wedding (in May) and continued even after. I guess I was on an exercise high. I was also on this quest with some friends to get “Abs By Christmas”. So I had a lot of motivation and it was great. I was really proud of the fact that I worked out that much and for that length of time. But you know what? After months of working out, I still sorta hated it! I guess that whole 21 days to form a habit idea, doesn’t really work for me? *shrugs*

But little did I know, yoga had taken hold of me. After I slowed down with doing yoga, I thought, “Here we go again. I’m over it. This didn’t stick either.” However, something did stick and it’s why I’ve gotten back into it this month. There’s something that I noticed with all of the different yoga videos I’d been watching over the years and that’s the notion of “checking in with the body”. If you’ve done yoga, you know this means becoming aware of the breath (breathing is very important with yoga), but also being aware of your body overall as you practice. I’ve been thinking about this for a few months and realized, something FINALLY stuck with me in regards to health/fitness. Yay!

By checking in with the body, not only does this mean becoming aware of your breath and your movements, but it extends out to how you treat your body. It’s about what you put in your body, which then gets the mental involved. I’m amazed that this awareness has hit me. I had heard about how yoga can do this for you, but I really didn’t see it happening to me. Well, I guess I didn’t even give that aspect a chance to affect me. But once I left, it hit me like a ton of bricks. Hmm, that saying “you don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone” comes to mind, doesn’t it?

Do yourself a favor and check in with your body. Even if you don’t work out or eat well, just check in with it and see how it’s doing. If it’s not doing well, maybe it’s time to do something about it. And if you decide to do something, try many things. There’s no one-size fits all for health & fitness. What works for me, may not work for you. But check in with your body because, well, it’s the only one you’ve got. 🙂

cheers,
t

Leave a Reply

