Shifting My Energy

Every day, my goal is to write. Whether it’s on this blog or for my book. I always start out with good intentions, but then somewhere along the line, my focus shifts and I use my energy for other things. One of those things is the internet. There is so much on the Internet that takes my focus away from what I should be doing. How often does this happen to you?

We all  have goals or “to-do lists” that we make each day, month or otherwise. And without a doubt, somehow we end up using that energy for other purposes. Why does this happen to us? Instead of spending 15 minutes on Facebook, I could use my time to write a few paragraphs in my book. Or, rather than spending my time on Twitter, I should be finding different ways to organize the growing mess in our apartment.

I see it amongst my friends as well, so I know I’m not alone. Many of them have various things they want to achieve in life and yet, they are focusing their energy on other things. And those other things aren’t always “silly” things like surfing the Internet. If we are passionate about accomplishing something in life, be it small goals like organization in our homes or larger goals like finding love or new careers, then why does our energy shift away from those goals? I’ve been realizing lately how much I could’ve accomplished in life had I kept my focus.

Do you have something you should be focusing your energy on? Do you feel like you’re wasting your time on matters that do nothing to help you achieve your goals or that to-do list?

-t

2 thoughts on “Shifting My Energy

  1. I am totally wasting so much time creeping on Facebook, for no reason! I don’t know why I do it to myself. Its’ not like I find anything useful when I’m creeping on Facebook…so why do I keep doing it?? LOL If I wasn’t playing around on Facebook I could write more blogs, read more books, and discover new things. I really need to disconnect from Facebook for a bit and live a bit more in the moment. Thanks for this point and for making me come clean about my stupid addiction to Facebook! 😉

    1. Hey, it happens to all of us. I’m trying to regulate my time on FB/Twitter, so I can focus my energy on stuff that matters. It’s hard! I’m so addicted to being on social media! 😛

Leave a Reply

