The 2013 Rewind

I always enjoy looking back on the year. I’m glad I have Facebook to help me remember everything! I nearly forgot a few awesome things. Let’s rewind, shall we?

January – My husband and I prepared for our May wedding. Facebook reminded me that I had my make-up trial during this time. That was a fun experience. I had never had my make-up done professionally. It was SO relaxing!! I would definitely do this again for another special occasion!

February – We won a Valentine’s Day dinner cruise on the Hudson! The food was wonderful and the cruise itself was so nice. I hope we can do more things like this in the future.

March – We went to visit my parents in Florida during baseball spring training. My parents work at the stadium where the Detroit Tigers train. We had a good time and thoroughly enjoyed the 80 degree temps 🙂

April – It’s a month before the wedding and we were knee-deep in all the final preparations. I was so stressed. But thankfully, this was my bachelorette/bridal shower month. SO fun!! My bridesmaids ROCKED!

May – Wedding Month!! I’ll never forget our special, fun-filled day!! 🙂 🙂

June – We took a min-moon to Fort Lauderdale to relax. It was so nice to get away and finally be done with all the wedding planning.

July – Didn’t do much this month.

August – One of my very good friends got married in the DC area, so we went down for that and spent Labor Day there as well.

September – Aside from spending Labor Day in DC this month, we celebrated my birthday later this month! My sweetie took me to Sushi Samba! I’m sure there are good (maybe even better) local places, but SS is fantastic. Seriously, if you’ve never been, do yourself a favor and go! Oh, make sure you’ve got a nice chunk of change with ya…it’s not cheap!

October – Halloween! We went to two Halloween parties – one in VA and on in DE. Fun times, fun times! I went as a hippie this year. 🙂

November – Sweetie’s birthday month. We didn’t do much for his b-day as I am broke unemployed financially challenged at the moment. But with my mom’s help, I was able to get him something nice.

For Thanksgiving, we made the 10 hour trek to Detroit, to celebrate the holiday with his family. It was such a fun time and I loved being back in Detroit. I was also able to see my parents, who had been in town since the summer! My parents joined his for Thanksgiving dinner. It was great to have everyone together! I felt/feel so unbelievably thankful for our families.

December – Christmas time! Sweetie didn’t have time off, so we spent it here in the city. But we made it special by ordering a Honeybaked ham dinner!! I grew up with my mom ordering Honeybaked hams for Christmas, so I was very excited to get one. Let me tell ya, it didn’t disappoint! It was so delicious, just the way I remember them. I also made gingerbread cookies for the first time and they turned out great! I’ll definitely have to make them again.

As we get ready for the new year, we have a lot of things we’d like to accomplish, namely finding work and moving. I’m still working on my book, but it’s been challenging trying to get to my 50K word goal. I’ve got 25K words and I’ve been pushing as hard as I can, but writing a book is tough! But I’ll get there, as long as I keep plugging away. My other goal for the new year is to ramp up my fitness routine.  I slowed down towards the end of the year, only working out a couple days per week. I’ve been putting more effort into writing in the past few months. But it’s time to get back on the serious horse and return to my 4-5 day/week program. I actually did really well in 2013 with fitness. In fact, I worked out solid from Jan – Oct, about 4-5 days a week. I also completed 7 of 8 weeks of INSANITY over the summer, which was VERY challenging, but got me in great shape! I really owe all this to my friend, who was also embarking on a serious fitness/health journey. Her will and determination really carried me through, so shouts out to you K.B.! Thank you so much!! This year was the first time in a long time that I’ve been so faithful to fitness. I also really changed my “diet” and I feel much better for it. I still have to watch a few things in my nutrition, but overall, I think I’m doing pretty well.

Maybe I’ll write another post with a few more details about my plans for the new year. But for now, I’m just thankful to have had a wonderful year. I am a weird person, and typically, odd numbered years are never that great for me. It’s the Libra in me…I just feel unbalanced in odd years. It’s weird, I know. But this year was definitely an exception. I’m looking for to 2014 and I pray that everyone has a safe, happy New Year’s Eve!

-t

Leave a Reply

