Fifteen Thousand

I’ve reached slightly over 15,000 words in the book!!! I’m SO EXCITED!! I can’t believe I’ve written this much and I still feel really good about how things are progressing. I haven’t had writer’s block, but I have had some moments where I’ve had to stop and figure out my plot a little bit more. I’ve somehow created some craaaazy drama for my main character (MC). In fact, when I start to edit, I will need to assess some of the drama surrounding her. One of the MC’s friends has sorta taken over in a way that I did not foresee.  I’ve often read articles from authors that discuss how they let the characters take them wherever they want to go. I never really understood what they meant by that, seeing as how the character’s story is up to the author. Essentially, how could I just let my character tell me what to do! But now, that I’m in the thick of writing, I GET IT. Boy oh boy, do I get it!

My MC is involved in quite the situation. She’s not up a creek, but she’s definitely stuck and she’s probably not going to be able to get what she wants right now. She’s got her hands on it, but she can’t quite grasp it all the way. As a writer, I have to say, it’s thrilling! When I started writing this book, I took the “pantser” approach, meaning I’m flying by the seat of my pants with this story. I made a very loose outline and essentially just went for it. I have to say that, my MC’s friend has gotten me all off track, but in a good way. What I had outlined would’ve been fine, but what I have now is a story! It’s interesting, surprising and I think it’ll be a real page turner. I don’t want to hype it up, but at the same time, I’m hyping it up! And I haven’t even BEGUN to edit. When I start the edits, I can only imagine that the story will get even better.

So that’s my writing update for now. Fifteen thousand words. A-mazing.

-t

Leave a Reply

