Happiness In Your Soul

I’ve been in this spirit of making some things happen, namely writing this book. BOOK UPDATE: I’m past 10,000 words!!! WOOT WOOT! I had been handwriting AND entering each chapter into my computer. Now that I’m at 10K, I’m just handwriting. I want to keep my momentum going, so no more stopping to type everything up. Full speed ahead!

Unfortunately, I’m not going to complete the National Novel Writing Month challenge of getting to 50,000 words by the end of the month. That’s ok. I WILL finish this book by the end of this year! Once I finish, I’m moving on to editing (I have not been editing, as that’s part of the challenge). Then, I’ll work on querying literary agents. Hopefully I can find one that loves the book and will work with me. I’m determined to get published! I can FEEL it in my soul.

To me, this all sounds fun and exciting, but perhaps to some of you, this sounds…. unrealistic? Unattainable? Perhaps some of you think the idea of writing a book sounds awesome, yet not feasible. And to some of you, this may sound downright crazy, given the fact that I don’t have a job. Perhaps you think, “shouldn’t you be trying to find work instead?”

I had a phone call with someone yesterday that got me thinking about all of these questions. I started thinking that, there are some people out there that will not support my dream. Maybe it’s because I keep calling it a “dream”? I don’t know. But that’s what it’s been to me for so long. A dream. I’ve dreamt of writing a book since I was a little girl. In fact, I am writing the very story that I had always dreamt about writing! The characters are more mature, but this is the same story I’ve wanted to write about since I thought of it 27 years ago. And now that I’m older, it’s clear that this was meant to be. (They say God puts dreams in our hearts. And I believe those dreams are ultimately the purpose for our lives.)

As I sit here each day and fulfill this dream, there’s this new level of happiness that I feel. It’s happiness in my soul. It’s rare that I feel happiness in my soul. I felt that way on my wedding day. I felt that way when I graduated college and graduate school. I felt that way when I got my first full time job. It’s possible to feel that way, but it’s SO hard to reach that feeling. Sure, I achieve some level of happiness on a daily basis. But it’s not often that I reach being happy in my soul. I have to say, I want to feel that level of happiness more often. The older I get, the more important it becomes for me.

I say all this to express that it’s important to find what makes you happy in your soul, even if others may not agree with you. They say life is short, but sometimes it’s long. Do you want to spend the rest of your life only reaching a certain level of happiness? What if you could spend life having happiness in your soul? Think of the last time you just felt overjoyed. Think of the last time you felt so happy, you could burst! THAT’S the sort of happiness we need to strive for each and every day.

-t

Leave a Reply

