Now Seeking Happiness

We all seek happiness in our lives. Whether it’s in our careers/jobs, our homes, or within ourselves, we all desire to be happy. I would say that happiness trumps most desires in our lives.  I feel like the list is long for what it would take to make me happy. I try to be happy with life as it is, but it’s hard not to get caught up in the idea of obtaining things to bring happiness, but it happens to all of us.

For starters, at this time, financial stability would make me extremely happy. I would probably say most times, being able to take care of my financial responsibilities would make me happy 99% of the time. Perhaps I’m exaggerating, but it’s definitely a high percentage, likely due to my lack of employment. I’m sure this percentage would change if I were working. Even still, being financial stable is important and there’s nothing that makes me happier to have all my bills paid! Of course, the icing on the cake is to have funds leftover too! But I’ll settle for not having to worry about owing anyone.

If I were working, I would say being happy in my work life would be important. Again, it would be a high percentage since work tends to take up most of our lives. It’s unfortunate, but bringing in an income is one of those necessary evils. We don’t really want to work, but we need money to survive. Therefore, I would hope to be happy about 80% of the time in my job. I’ve had this sort of happiness before in my work life and I’m definitely working on achieving this in my next one.

When it comes to my relationship, this is a no-brainer that it must make me happy for a large percentage of the time. As a married person, there is no doubt that I want to be happy over 90% of the time. When you’re in a relationship/marriage, being happy should rank high, otherwise what is the point? Similar to being happy at work, if you’re spending the majority of your time with someone, shouldn’t that person make you happy damn near all the time? I say yes. We only have this one life, so shouldn’t we spend it with someone that brings us as much happiness as possible?

These are the main things in life that I depend on to make me happy. I think most people would want money in the bank, a decent work life and a wonderful personal relationship. Of course, there are so many other things we want too.  But as I continue to grow and learn about myself (we never stop this process), I know that I must learn to be happy with where I am and with what I have in life. There are very few times in my life that I can remember being truly happy.  And perhaps it’s not a bad thing in some respects. Part of me wants to remain in such a state, so that I continue to push for more in my life. I never want to feel too settled or get too complacent. But I know that I can take more time to enjoy the here and now and be more grateful for where I am.

Are you happy…truly happy with your life today? What will it take to get you to a happy place?

-t

Leave a Reply

