Living In The Moment

pastpresentfuturequoteI was reading another blog that spoke about living in the moment. I realized that I don’t do that enough. I’m always living either in the past or the future. I constantly think about the past, reliving moments that I wish I could re-do. Then I switch over to the future, where my thoughts are filled with getting older, not being accomplished, and lots of other “nots”. *sigh* It’s no way to live.

The quote to the right sums it all up. I get sad about things that have happened in the past and anxious about the future. I really need to get to a place of peace. But then I think, is anyone ever living in peace? Well… complete and utter peace? Seriously, I would love to live like I didn’t have a care in the world, but that’s just not me.

I think some of the events that have happened to me in the past prevent me from enjoying my present. Both of those events were deaths. I think about death more than I used to and frankly, I’m tired of thinking about it. I know, that’s so morbid, but it’s true. Welcome to my world. Just when you think you know someone, they drop the death card. What a way to turn this party of positivity into a Debbie Downer situation. I know, I get it. It’s why I don’t talk about it face to face. It’s depressing. But the fact remains, I think about my life a lot more since the passing of those two very special people. Prior to that, I lived so fully. I lived so freely. Sure, sometimes I would think about losing my parents from time to time. In fact, once a month, I would think about it. Hm, I think I still do, although I haven’t thought about it in a while it seems. I guess I’m too preoccupied with other things. But I do think about losing them and it brings me such great sadness. We all have to cross that path eventually, I just hope I don’t have to cross it any time soon.

Now that we’re all depressed (yay?), I definitely want to focus more on living in the moment. I want to gain peace in my life. I wish I could meditate because I feel like I could find the peace I need. Well, I stink at meditating. It’s so hard for me to just focus on…well nothing. I can do it for about two minutes and then my mind is off to the races! I’m thinking about all the stuff above and then some. It’s just a wasted effort. But they do say, you have to practice and I guess that’s just what I’ll have to do.

How do you live in the moment? Any tips?

-t

2 thoughts on “Living In The Moment

  1. I am more of a visual person, so recently I printed out a bunch of photos of when I was having a good time and made a collage on my wall. It helps to keep me more grounded and less in lala land 🙂

    1. That’s a good idea! I need a vision board. I think that’s along the same idea. I want to create one and put up all my goals on it so I can stay focused.

Leave a Reply

